Funds Allocation for Science Research

Home » Information Desk » Current News » Funds Allocation for Science Research



Government has taken several steps to promote science and scientific research in the country. Many new and innovative schemes have been initiated recently to catalyze research in areas like healthcare, information and communication, sustainable habitat, nanoscience and technology, water resources and river systems etc. Emphasis has been given to interdisciplinary areas of priority such as energy, water, health, security, nutrition, advanced materials and manufacturing, cyber physical systems etc. to meaningfully connect the research and development (R&D) undertaken in our academic and national laboratories to the sustainable development goals (SDG) of the Government. Some other measures taken by the Government to promote science and scientific research include successive increase in plan allocations for Scientific Departments, offering attractive research fellowships, strengthening infrastructure for R&D etc.

The fund allocated to the Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE) / Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) for agriculture research and education during XI and XII Plan were Rs 10325.76 crore and Rs 13786.58 crore respectively. The Government, with the aim of developing and promoting scientific technology to increase agricultural production of the country, has established “National Agricultural Research System (NARS)” in various states including Uttar Pradesh. The names of State/UT where the ICAR Research Institutes/ All India Coordinated/Network Research Projects have been set up including Uttar Pradesh, are given below:

1. Andaman & Nicobar

2. Andhra Pradesh

3. Arunachal Pradesh

4. Assam

5. Bihar

6. Chhattisgarh

7. Delhi

8. Goa

9. Gujarat

10. Haryana

11. Himachal Pradesh

12. Jammu & Kashmir

13. Jharkhand

14. Karnataka

15. Kerala

16. Madhya Pradesh

17. Maharashtra

18. Meghalaya

19. Nagaland

20. Odisha

21. Punjab

22. Rajasthan

23. Sikkim

24. Tamilnadu

25. Telangana

26. Uttar Pradesh

27. Uttarakhand

28. West Bengal

This information was given by Minister of State for Ministry of Science & Technology and Ministry of Earth Sciences Shri Y.S.Chowdary in a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha today.



Press Information Bureau , 26 July, 2017